Emeralds (Corduliidae)
These dragonflies are usually black or dark brown with areas of metallic green or yellow, and most of them have large, emerald-green eyes. There are five genera in the Corduliidae family in Europe. They are Cordulia (1 species), Somatochlora (7 species), Epitheca (1 species), Oxygastra (1 species) and Macromia (1 species).
Species seen but not photographed:
  • Balkan Emerald: Bulgaria (Jun 2014)
  • Brilliant Emerald: Decoy Heath, Berks (Jul 2013)
  • Yellow-spotted Emerald: France (Jun 2010)